2021 Queensland Community Achievement Awards – Synaco Safety Award Finalists

The Finalists have been selected for the Synaco Safety Award in the 2021 Queensland Community Achievement Awards. The Awards are all about the passion of people who are committed to making Queensland a better place to live.

The Finalists are:

Road Accident Action Group of North Mackay is dedicated to holistically improving road safety. Road Accident Action Group (RAAG) is a not-for-profit incorporated association that brings together the community, industry, government and university sectors to develop road safety culture. RAAG has delivered fatigue presentations to over 20,000 workers in the Bowen Basin and coal district. They deliver road safety messages and work closely with the heavy vehicle industry to promote safe driving practices. They have developed audio-visual resources imploring young drivers to make safe choices. They successfully run their ‘Work Out Visibly’ campaign, which helps ensure walkers, riders, and runners are visible to other road users.

Glen Cook of Kawungan is a passionate powerline safety advocate. Glen is a Principal Community Safety Specialist who has been working as an electrician for over 29 years within the construction and utilities industries. He has been a first responder to serious injury/burns and fatalities due to third party accidental contact with powerlines. Glen works tirelessly to share safety messages and highlight the very real consequences of the wrong attitude to powerline safety. He communicates his presentations and safety information in terms easily understood by the Agriculture, Aviation and Construction industries. Glen was named Australian Health and Safety Professional of the Year in June 2020.

SGESCO-MAX of Archerfield is helping increase safety and productivity. SGESCO-MAX was founded in 1962 and has over 200 apprentices. Since 2002, SGESCO-MAX has started developing several safety solutions under their MAX-SAFE brand. Their flagship product MAX-SAFE Brake Anti-Rollaway System has become the de facto standard in the waste management industry. They are working on a Vulnerable Road User Protection initiative with SUEZ, aimed at protecting their operators and Vulnerable Road Users (VRUs). The initiative is finding the best technology to install on vehicles to warn operators of VRUs when they are turning left. They also recently signed onto the National Road Safety Partner Programme.

Mendi Group of Bohle strives for safety every day. Mendi is a civil construction business that employs 70 personnel, labourers and operators. They are one of a few locally owned and operated civil construction businesses who have obtained Federal Safety Certification. They also have Safety, Quality and Environmental ISO Certifications, and National Heavy Vehicle Accreditation Scheme Certification. In 2017, the Director decided to invest in recruitment and resources to champion a Safety Team, specifically to have a measurable improvement in safety performance. Their mascot, Mendi Mick, is included in project signs and safety posters onsite to remind workers about safety rules. In 2021, they achieved a 5-year Lost Time Injury Free.

The Synaco Safety Award is open to any organisation or project in Queensland, demonstrating a clear focus on safety and will recognise innovative and tailored approaches to the safety and wellbeing of employees, clients, participants and members of the community. Whether it’s addressing training, culture, process or a wholistic approach, Synaco aims to encourage and recognise those committed to safety in their workplace and throughout the community.

Finalists are in the running to win a great prize: each category winner will receive $500 cash, $1,000 in Qoin and a $500 BC Tourism Gift Voucher along with a trophy.

The winners will be announced at the Awards Gala Presentation Dinner held at the Royal on the Park Brisbane on Friday 5th November 2021.

Community members including friends and colleagues of each Finalist are invited to share this special occasion. Tickets are $135.00 each which includes a three-course meal, beverages and entertainment. Tickets can be easily purchased online at https://bit.ly/QLDCAA21gala.

All Finalists will go into the People’s Choice Award which is run through our Facebook page; Please ensure you like our page and vote for your favourite Finalist. The winner will be announced at the Online Awards Presentation and will receive a great prize.

For further information about our Finalists or purchasing tickets please feel free to contact the Awards Office on 1300 055 096.

Congratulations and good luck to all Finalists.

The Queensland Community Achievement Awards began in 2002, with a regional focus, but is now conducted state wide. The awards have been encouraging, acknowledging and rewarding the valuable contributions that individuals, communities and businesses are making throughout Queensland. These awards recognise those that work tirelessly to improve their communities by promoting the social, economic and environmental prosperity.